Tags:
  1. Luxri

Luxri Member

Can a gem mine be close to the sea?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Luxri, Jul 20, 2019.

My question revolves around the setting for one of my cities. I decided to place it by the coast but that brings with it some questions. Can I still have farms and fields outside a coastal city? Can a gem mine be close to the sea? I am not very experienced with geological stuff or why certain things can be at site A while others can't be at site B. If someone smarter than me could answer this question I would be grateful.

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

farms and fields are often found on river deltas so that's no problem - a mine is less likely but you could have diamonds or similar brought down by rivers and found in alluvial grit

Oscar Leigh and Luxri like this.
  3. EFMingo

EFMingo A Modern Dinosaur Supporter Contributor

Gem mines are wherever there were volcanoes, land or sea. I live in California and frequent the gem mines for trying my luck at some good tourmalines. I also used to live in Duluth, MN, right at the tip of Lake Superior. The city is built on an old volcano. The shoreline is an excellent place to find various nodule and geodes. Gem and crystal mines are everywhere.

Oscar Leigh, Luxri and jannert like this.
  4. Necronox

Necronox Contributor Contributor

Yes you can have a gem mine by the sea. But water coming in would probably be an issue

5. Iain Aschendale

Iain Aschendale Lying, dog-faced pony Marine Supporter Contributor

Currently Reading::
    Telemachus Sneezed
    The one problem you'd have with a gem mine near the sea is the water table. Not sure exactly how quickly it drops off or how far from the sea your mine is, but if you dig a hole in the dry sand at the beach, eventually you'll hit water. Same thing with a mine, which is why pumps are very important in some places.