1. Absolute beginner

Absolute beginner New Member

Novel Do's and don'ts

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Absolute beginner, Feb 3, 2014.

I have no formal training in creative writing and have no clue whether I will be able to finish a story but I am enthused by an idea and would like to give it a shot. My questions relate more to the "rules of the game". For example, can I start a novel (first paragraph) in the first person narrative and then have the 2nd paragraph in the third person narrative or is it advisable to stick to one or the other. Is there anywhere I can learn about grammatical do's and don'ts?

Secondly, if I set my book in a different country, as it's a fictional novel, can I just make things up about the place or does it have to be factual to a tee? i.e. I am English writing about Hong Kong, is this crazy? I am obviously doing research via the internet which gives lots of information but it's difficult to find out really precise local knowledge.

2. Rafiki

Rafiki Active Member

Don't worry about it.

Last week I introduced some friends to League of Legends. They were terrible. They stood under tower, over extended, filled their inventory with boots (6 Doran's rings on Garen), all those fun little skills a person takes for granted were completely missing. My attempt at coaching was a failure. Any advice I spouted slipped through one ear and out the other.

They didn't get better until they had some experience under their belt. After a few games they started asking me questions. "Why was I falling back then?", "How do I buy pieces of items instead of the whole thing?", "Why do I get gold off some minions but not others?" that kind of thing. I realized then that I couldn't tell them how to play, I just had to do the best I could and let them ask questions when they were ready for them.