1. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su

I think I'm a shitty writer...

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by jo spumoni, Feb 13, 2012.

Until now, I never doubted for a second that I was a decent writer. But all of a sudden, I look at what I've written before and what I try to produce now and it seems like nothing's any good. One of my favorite story ideas, the one that I was so sure was going to carry through to the end, is stagnating on its 50th page, and perhaps 10 or 15 of those 50 pages are no good in any case. I set it aside and started working on a short story that started out great and then got stuck in an idiotic place. I posted a paragraph in another forum, and they told me the prose was purple. I was distressed because they were completely right: it was hopelessly purple, and I didn't even notice!

Being a bad writer shouldn't bug me, I know. I'm young, and still learning the craft. But it really does. I want to be good at everything I try. I thought I really had some ability in writing, and now I just feel like I suck.

I have to break out of this funk one way or another because it's driving me crazy, but short of taking a long hiatus from writing (which I have been doing for a few weeks already), I don't know what to do. I simply have no ideas on what to write about and nothing seems very appealing. :confused:

I'm sorry for the negative rant, but I needed to say all of this to people who understand (I hope). Anyone else had this problem? How do you talk yourself out of the blues?

2. PumpkinLord45

PumpkinLord45 New Member

You have to keep writing to become a better writer.

3. Foxe

Foxe Active Member

The best you can really do is keep your chin up and keep praticing. Just like an instrument, you'll get better as you practice. Nothing comes naturally.