1. QueenOfPlants

QueenOfPlants Definitely a hominid

Can't identify story structure elements

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by QueenOfPlants, May 9, 2017.

I'm still learning the art of writing and I have only recently started to engange in the theory behind it all.

Now, I have this commenced story and I'm trying to give it some structure. I thought if I had a framework, it would be easier to fill in the parts that are still blank.

But so far none of the basic structures I found match my story. I tried to identify the elements of - for example - an 8-point story arc, but I'm failing.
    I feel as if I had to change so much of it to press it into some mold, that it would not be my story anymore.

Is anybody here who likes structuring a story and would be willing to "sit down with me" via PM and try to help me figure it out?
    I feel if I completely neglected story structure, this might be a sign of weak writing, but I also feel I might have to deviate from the usual concepts to tell the story I want to tell. And atm I'm completely overwhelmed with that task, particularly because I'm so inexperienced with writing theory and how to apply it.

I appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance! :)

Edit: genre is fantasy/historical/romance/bit erotica

2. obsidian_cicatrix

obsidian_cicatrix I ink, therefore I am. Contributor

Do you have the story you want to tell outlined from start to finish?

3. QueenOfPlants

Well, kinda. Sorta.
    There are things missing. I mean, there are problems of which I don't know yet how to solve them. And the antagonist is not really fleshed out because I have the feeling it's a bit dependend on how the middle goes.
    I have some kind of "archetype" in mind, but no backstory for him.

I'm not certain whether what I have would qualify as outline.

... Ok, looked up "outline" again and I think it does not. On one page I found "Work to create a linear, well-structured plot with no gaps in the story".