Tags:
  1. Frederic Limon

Frederic Limon New Member

Changing Pace

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Frederic Limon, Sep 11, 2019.

Wondering what other people's experience may have been like if they've gone through something similar I'm going through.

Basically, I've been writing a sci-fi novel on and off for several years now. Been pacing it as a thriller. But after a lot of internal digging, and editing, etc. I've come to the realization that I'm not getting what I want out of it by pacing it like a thriller. I'm just not feeling as immersed as I would like it to be. I've re-drafted some chapters now at a longer length and really loving it. But now I feel like the entire idea of the pace and character of the novel is shifting from what I've had in mind for the last few years. In a way, I'm mourning what I've worked on as part of the process to move towards what I know I really want it to be.

Has anyone else here done this after working on something so long? Good or bad experiences doing it?

jannert likes this.
  2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

I've just finished changing a fantasy novella of 59k words into a fantasy novel of 105k words... pace hasn't really changed, there's just more of it now

jannert likes this.
  3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hi Frederic. Welcome to the forum. (I'm one of the moderators here, as is big soft moose (above.)

I think your dilemma is probably something most writers experience at some point. It happens when your story outgrows the boundaries you set when you started out. Either the characters become more important than the plot, or the plot takes a turn that removes it from a particular genre's requirements, or simply the target audience changes because your story tone has changed.