1. Illandrius

Illandrius Member

New writer needs help with development??

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Illandrius, Dec 28, 2015.

I am currently creating my first fantasy novel. I am new to writing. I would like to be able to begin writing soon. However I am running into some issues. I am having issues with creating a plot outline. I know the over all story line of the book, however I am having issues when it comes to the very detailed parts of the journey.

The book is going to be about a group of 6 characters living in a fantasy world, wanting to escape the lives they have been forced to live. They are traveling to the one place that is said to be free. I am creating this journey for these 6 characters and not sure how to make a good timeline. I am very detailed and a bit obsessive when it comes to things like this. What is the best way to create a timeline. Should I create a map and have all the cities listed out on the map and just chart their journey? Should I just start writing and see how it goes?
    Also I have plans to make more than one book and make this a series. Should I go ahead and plan the entire story out to ensure consistency?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

Don't worry about Book 2 and 3 when you got no details for book 1
    It won't do you any good. Consistency issues can be dealt with later.

If all the characters are starting from different places and heading through the same places to reach their destination, just keep a loose idea of how many hours/days pass between each PoV.
    So if A gets to CITY and B cannot encounter him, make sure B either is behind one day or ends up in danger or decides to take a nap rather than risk going to far ahead and getting lost in the dark.
    Just write as you go and keep in mind the overlaps of characters.

3. Illandrius

Illandrius Member