1. ellebell16

ellebell16 New Member

Character Appearance

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by ellebell16, Nov 26, 2010.

It's very important to me to have a vivid idea of what the character will look like in my head. Usually, I'll think of someone I've met/seen before and tweak their image around a bit until I get something new, but generally based off of that person.

My question is...how do you personally create the character's image when writing fiction? Do you imagine a totally new person or base it off of an existing person (like you neighbor or a celeb)? Is it bad to base a characters looks (LOOKS, not personality/quirks/traits) off of somebody else?

2. Youniquee

Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

Since I'm actually an artist, I usually start with drawing the character using random idea's that come to my head that are inspired by other drawings or stories. Over months or even years, that design changes as I become a better artist/writer.
    I don't think it's bad if you base it off someone, it might give it that unique touch :)

3. Melzaar the Almighty

Melzaar the Almighty Contributor Contributor

I generally don't like doing that... I tend to look at people and class them into basic types when it comes to face structure, colouration, etc. Then when I need a character the sort of idea of how they should be comes into my head, but never an increeeedibly clear picture. Sometimes if I write a character for long enough I'll draw them, and if I like them a lot, I'll draw them many times, and that's about the only time I start getting anything like a clear idea of them. Mostly, though... I just have a shadowy impression of hair colour, stature, and style, along with mannerisms, personality, etc and things that are a lot more important - I'll only briefly discuss their outer appearance, if at all in their initial introduction, and only later build on those details as I get to know them.

4. FrankABlissett

FrankABlissett Active Member