1. Iocr63

Iocr63 New Member

Character development male perspective

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Iocr63, Aug 25, 2021.

Hello I am new in writing and started an erotic book I am struggling with the male perspective it is not that I can't make something up but because I overanalyze what people say in general,I don't want to give the wrong idea to my readers. I asked a few men about this topic but they were so laid back about it so I need to find someone who understands the perspective of a man who isn't that comfortable with the emotional and physical intimacy,somebody who values practicality and logic over their feelings.I am very much in my heart ,never been one to be in my head so can't really understand that perspective.Could anybody help so I can make my character seem as genuine as possible?

2. Aled James Taylor

Aled James Taylor Contributor Contributor

The Spock character from Star Trek comes to mind, but you wouldn't expect to meet someone like that in real life so I wouldn't describe him as a realistic character. The character could be generally shy, and particularly so with women. At the prospect of a close relationship he could become emotionally overwhelmed and seize up. Inexperience could easily result in a lack of confidence, fear of failure, and fear of embarrassment. He could be a particularly private person who doesn't want to share personal details with others. The issue isn't so much a lack of feelings or prioritising logic over feelings, it's inability to deal with the feelings he has and then falling back on what he is confident doing.

Josephine Duke, jannert and Iocr63 like this.
  3. sarkalark

sarkalark Member

Anyone remember the Pon Farr ? :bigtongue:

I don't think you can go wrong counting on some advice I'd once heard, to paraphrase age appropriately, 'Males are completely preoccupied with their one body part that reacts but can't think.' :bigeek: