1. Cammie B

Cammie B Member

Character Relationship Dilemma

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Cammie B, Sep 10, 2017.

Hi all! This is my first time posting here, and I'm looking for some advice. I'm working on writing my first novel, and it's supernatural/fantasy. My central character is a lesbian, and she starts out the story in a very strong, healthy, committed relationship. While the relationship isn't the main focus of the plot, it's definitely a major point. Throughout the story, I plan to throw in things that test them and cause them to doubt each other, even create a possibility for the end of the relationship. No cheating or anything like that, no thanks. My issue is, I have another character, a character that I love. She and my MC have an undeniable connection. I don't know whether to pursue her chemistry with my main character or leave them as friends and use that to complicate things. I don't want any sort of love triangle though, that feels very overdone and unnecessary for me. As writers, what would you do? As readers, what would you prefer? Help!

2. Sclavus

Sclavus Active Member

It sounds like a case of "killing your darlings." That means different things to different writers, but for me, "killing your darlings" means letting go of what you necessarily want for the story in order to tell a good one. To give you an example, I might want my disabled main character to undergo some kind of miracle healing so he's better equipped to fight his opponents, but that's not what serves the story best. As a reader, I certainly appreciate you wanting to avoid certain tropes like cheating, but you may want to at least introduce the temptation. I believe some people call it an "emotional affair" or "emotional cheating."