1. vcarson

vcarson New Member

How do you feel about using allegory?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by vcarson, Nov 11, 2013.

I am currently working on a 14 chapter novel that has an allegory within the plot. I don't want to hit readers over the head with my message, but I do want them to notice the allegorical question that the novel asks. Is there a way of using allegory and not making it obvious. The novel is set in 1906, so everything seems very literal and straightforward, however all of the characters and the plot are supposed to be symbolic of modern society. This is my first novel and I am just learning about the fiction-writing process. I've always liked writing, so I decided to write a novel of my own. Do you dislike the idea of a plot having an allegorical subtext or do you find it interesting?

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

The only way to not hit a reader over the head with your message (Whether philosophical, moral, modern-issue, or whatever) is to state it dozens of times over and over and literally saying it.
    Lots of writers do it in fiction by giving characters a cause to champion or an enemy with familiar ideologies.

Like... Terry Goodkind with his "Right is Right" mentality and his hate of communism (represented by the empire) and Buddhist (by the social pacifists). At least, that's what I got.
    The oldest of fables championed a moral like dragons were based on greed.
    Or monsters taking the shape of humans. Trolls could be bullies, succubus could be seductive women, and so on.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

isn't that contradictory?... did you forget to add a second 'not' after the second 'to'?

4. Aurin

Aurin New Member