1. cosmic lights

cosmic lights Contributor Contributor

Choosing a main character?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by cosmic lights, Feb 3, 2019.

Hi, I'm a novice and could use some good advice.
    My book is in the very early stages and I just wanted some opinions on which character would serve better as the main?

Originally, EMMA was the focus with KATE just appearing in one section as an “Impact Character”, so KATE has very little character arc because she was never meant to make it any further. But when I started working on KATE I just really liked the character so wrote an introduction to see if she would work better. I like KATE but I feel EMMA has more room for growth. Emma has strong morals and it would be interesting to see them tested. I could try to blend the two character but they are so different and have lived different lives.

My book has a dystopian setting and is an alternative history for a holocaust survival story with magic. At the beginning of my book a common problem is occurring for the two separate races is my book – magic is losing it's power/disappearing and nobody knows why. This phenomena is causing the death of magical plants, animals and beings. The Ingel are known for their amazing healing medicine, it's the only weapon against illness they have and it's failing.

KATE has a very different personality to Emma. She has grown up in a Ghetto, where every day is a fight to survive, she has seen the best and the worst in human nature so is quite savvy but she is a product of her environment. She can do what needs to be done within reason, she can break Laws with little conscious, steal food from other hungry mouths and is a master in surviving.