1. Nicholas C.

Nicholas C. Active Member

What are your pre-writing routines

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Nicholas C., Jul 22, 2011.

I am just getting into writing fiction (my background is in jounalistic/authoratative writing) and am wondering what most writers do as far as preparation, planning, etc.. Do a lot of you use outlines or write notes about characters? Thanks.

2. Islander

Islander Contributor Contributor

If I'm going to write something longer than a short story, I tend to make notes about people, places, organisations and things like that. I may also keep a simple list of events to remind me what order they need to occur in. But the notes are just memory aids; they're not complete descriptions, and they're not really pre-writing; I only write them as I need them.

I'm guessing there's more need for detailed planning if you write e.g a crime or spy thriller, because the plots are more complicated and characters tend to run around and do things to outsmart each other.

Disclaimer: I'm not published yet.

1 person likes this.
  3. LostInFiction

LostInFiction New Member

I have written notes on character, plot etc and I've found that really helpful in putting together my ideas. I also did a chapter synopsis for every chapter once I had relatively formed ideas but before I sat down to write the story itself. I've used the internet to do research on specific details and jotted down my findings and even sketched family trees and area maps to help get the story and its details clear and well developed in my head.

I'm on my first piece of writing so who knows if it's any good! lol.

All the best with your new venture.

4. ena18

ena18 New Member