1. Justin Rocket 2

Justin Rocket 2 Contributor Contributor

Should I wait until my WIP is finished before sending a query?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Justin Rocket 2, May 2, 2015.

I stumbled upon an agent who seems ideal for me. First, he's new, which should help because I'm a new writer. Second, he's particularly motivated in books to promote reading in boys and teenage guys. I want to write books which promote reading in boys and teenage guys. He's interested in my genre.

He requests that authors' queries be composed of a query letter and the first 3000 words of the novel WIP. There's nothing in his listing which states that the novel WIP must be completed before querying him. Is completion of the manuscript an unspoken rule in the industry?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Yes. Your MS should be complete before you query. Not much wiggle room on that, I'm afraid.

3. VirtuallyRealistic

VirtuallyRealistic Active Member

Since I've never been published, I can't speak from experience like BayView. However, I would think having a completed manuscript would be necessary before querying an agent. The book should be ready for editing before the query is sent.

4. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

From what I've read on the web, you must have a completed manuscript before you submit anything to an agent/publisher. If you've got nothing, they won't do business with you. Finish that story up and send it to that man.

5. B93

B93 Active Member

It should be finished, read by anyone you know who is likely to be a reasonable critic (not your mother unless she has writing credentials), re-edited by you, beta read, and if you can afford it, professionally edited.