1. Chrisso

Chrisso New Member

Character Flaws and Goals

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Chrisso, Oct 24, 2017.

Hi there, I'm a new writer and am seeking some advice in relation to developing a character for a screenplay I'm attempting to write, specifically regarding flaws and their relation to a character's pursuit of their goal in a story.

A lot of the advice I've read about developing the protagonist character stress that you need to determine what his/her flaw and main goals are, and that their flaw should be something that he/she needs to overcome in order to achieve that goal.

My question is, what if the main hindrance to the protagonist's pursuit of his/her goal is actually completely external, and unrelated to any of his/her character flaws? Would you still create flaws for that character, and let them overcome those flaws throughout their character arc (or not), while he/she is simultaneously attempt to pursue their goal? Or would they not be required?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. mashers

mashers Contributor Contributor Community Volunteer

Yes. If the character is easily able to overcome the obstacle to them accomplishing their goal, then the story would be boring. There really should be something internal the character has to overcome in order to achieve the goal. Bear in mind that “flaws” can include lack of skill. So the character might need to do something to achieve their goal, but not have the ability to do that thing. They have to learn how in order to achieve their goal.

izzybot likes this.
  3. xanadu

xanadu Contributor Contributor

Every once in a while a question about "flaws" pops up, and I always have the same answer:

Yes, typically the "flaws" of a character are what hinder them from attaining their goals. But I think that's far too black-and-white of an approach. Nobody is that simple.