1. Rick n Morty

Rick n Morty Active Member

Question Posting a synopsis for critique

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Rick n Morty, Feb 29, 2016.

I'm really new here, so it'll be a long time before I'm able to post in the writer's workshop, but here's a question for when I do.

All of the story ideas here seem to be posted in either prose form or script form. But what about a basic description of the plot, like you'd see on Wikipedia? Would that be allowed?

The reason I was planning on posting something like that is because I'm not very good at scripts, and I'm not the best at prose. This story idea is something I picture as a movie more than as a book. I'm more focused on getting critique on the plot and characterization than the way it's written. (Since the plot and characterization is the most important part of any work of fiction.)

So, am I allowed to post my story idea in Wikipedia synopsis form or not?

2. Tiamat384

Tiamat384 Member

Have you thought of posting in a Progress Journal and begin by having a synopsis and updating it on a regular basis. I'm pretty sure people could reply, otherwise perhaps put the synopsis in the "Plot" forums?

3. Komposten

Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Contributor

Quite a few members post their synopses in the Plot dev sub-forum. As long as you ask for ideas and thoughts about your concept (and not fully fledged crits about grammar, style, etc.) you're safe. :agreed:

4. Rick n Morty

I always thought that the Plot section was for small parts of the story, not the full story itself.

Also, it's the plot forum, not the characterization forum. What if there's problems with the characterization that I need to fix?

5. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

It's not that strict here. :D As long as you make it clear what you want advice on, people will reply.

6. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor