1. Masked Mole

Masked Mole Senior Member

How Do You Feel About Your Finished Product?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Masked Mole, May 8, 2015.

When you're done with a novel, novella, short story, poem, etc. how do you feel? Do you feel proud? Do you feel like you've accomplished something? Do you feel like it's imperfect?
    I have a strange mixture of these things. After I complete a big project, I pat myself on the back a little. I understand just how much effort goes into writing something, and I'm happy that I've reached another milestone. I also think about all the little things I didn't do quite right, and how I'm a terrible author. It's a strange hodgepodge of emotions that ultimately drives me to write more.
    MM

2. carsun1000

carsun1000 Active Member

Not sure about anyone else. But for me, even after I type "THE END" I'm still thinking about my storyline, still thinking about whether I tied all the knots and closed all the holes. In other words, I'm not really ever done until another project comes along.

Catrin Lewis and peachalulu like this.
  3. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

My initial reaction is a mix -
    There's elation - Booyah! I'm finally done! :D
    Worry - Am I sure all my commas are in the right place? :confused:
    Relief - thank God, I don't have to keep going over and over this doggone story :confuzled: . Now, I can move onto something fresh.
    Pride - Not bad, Peach, not bad. :agreed:
    Fear - What if this sucks and I can't tell?:ohno:

After a while I calm down ... a bit. And rationalize - it's good enough at this moment in time so quit fretting and move onto something fresh.
    That's my favorite part - moving onto something fresh.

4. Commandante Lemming

Commandante Lemming Contributor Contributor

I'll let you know when I finish.

As it is - it's "Omigosh! Omigosh! It's getting too long! How am I ever going to finish this blasted thing?!"

*furious typing on manuscript*