1. DonCanard

DonCanard New Member

Writers' Blog Which route would you follow?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by DonCanard, Feb 16, 2014.

I'm writing an adult-themed work about dating in our times. I've dated 45 women in 18 months. You could not invent what I have experienced on this roller-coaster. It has felt like I'm living someone else's life. I think you will find it entertaining.

As I'm just an amateur drinker with a writing problem, I'm not sure how best to proceed. I think the adult nature of my work (graphic encounters, contentious dilemmas, etc.) prevents me following a conventional marketing approach that involves my identity being revealed. I also do not want any of the participants' identities being traced through me.

The way I see it, after reading many posts on this august forum, my options are:

1. Avoid all self-publishing of any sort and write the darn thing and find an agent or publisher

2. Keep blogging away, release the whole work in to cyberspace, build a following and then use the metrics to present a business case to an agent or publisher

3. Blog away half of it, release the full work on Kindle and its ilk, use ensuing metrics to snag an agent or publisher

4. Forget about agents and publishers and go the self-published route and learn to promote like no-one else has.

I've already started blogging and the feedback has been positive so far and I'm starting to get traction with followers. I'm not entirely comfortable with the blogging effort so far because, although it has proven to me to I have a ready market and I connect with them, it might not be the best strategy.

What route would you follow and why? Or can you think of another route?

Thank you for your input.

Don.

2. Passero

Passero Member

Why not self-publish but use a different name?
    If you blog, do you blog in your own name? That probably holds the same risks as publishing some work in your own name. Just publish is with your blog alias.

3. DonCanard