1. picklzzz

picklzzz New Member

General and specific confusion!

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by picklzzz, Feb 23, 2012.

Hi All,

I just went to a writing conference there, and I was told basically by everyone that to really get published, you have to submit to literary fiction journals. I didn't really even know the difference, to be honest (I'm new to this, really), and from what I understand, the lit fiction is primarily character driven. Now, I've checked into magazines and such of the genre fiction I want to write (mystery, thriller, suspense), and they're much more plot driven. I'm confused as to what I should do.

Should I:

a) work on some short stories for literary fiction journals, even if this is not the style I want to practice and get better at?
    b) work on some short stories for thriller/suspense/mystery magazines, which is the style I want to practice and get better at?
    c) do both (a) and (b)
    d) just work on my novel for now, which is 1/3 of the way through, so I don't lose my flow?

I learned a lot at this conference, but it also made me realize how much competition there is out there and that I don't know what I'm doing! I'm trying to research and find out, but I feel so un-schooled with the way publishing works and what my best strategy is. I want to write mystery novels. That's my main goal. But at the conference, they implied you have to get some publications under your belt, specifically with lit journals.

What do you all think? Mammamaia? Others?

Thanks!

2. Dubya

Dubya New Member