1. thomas12345

thomas12345 New Member

Self-publishing then looking for a publisher?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by thomas12345, Feb 26, 2012.

I have a book I'm interested in publishing. Is it a bad idea to self-publish then seek out a 3rd party publisher? I just want to get something out there while I pitch my book to publishing agencies.

2. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

I'm not an expert but I don't know if anyone would pay you to be able to publish it if it's already published and available for a lot less than a traditionally published book would cost, unless it was a huge success and selling enormously.

3. TheWritingWriter

TheWritingWriter New Member

From what I understand, publishers don't want to touch your stuff even if you post it on a website or something, but it's not like I'm hearing this at tea time from publishers. I'm just getting that from hear-say.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

the only time a paying publisher would be interested in taking on an already self-published book, is if it's selling off the charts and still has huge untapped sales market potential... that hardly ever happens with fiction, not that often with non-fiction, either...

so, if you want to submit it to traditional [paying] presses, for heaven's sake, don't put it 'out there'!... plus, it's almost always best to get an agent and let the agent do the submitting, instead of approaching publishers directily... the best ones don't even look at unagented queries and don't allow unagented submissions...

5. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Simply put, that will not work.