1. Indigo Abbie

Indigo Abbie Member

Could Use Opinions on a Touchy Story Idea

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Indigo Abbie, Mar 16, 2018.

So I came up with a story idea, but I have this overwhelming problem. I'm afraid people may not understand or it'll be offensive. Granted everything may possibly offend, but it's so not my goal. Any ounce of factual research or guidance you can supply would be great. I'm a younger writer and the story is based off heavy topics. Most everything in my story idea can be changed, nothing is set in stone. Everything I include below is just where my idea processing is at the moment.

In summary what I have so far is, a fatherless adolescent male, between seventeen and twenty, deals with life in an American Colonial cult town. He and a companion get into trouble and it results in an accident that burns down a neighboring cabin. Because of the way he was born, a totally normal sun-poisoning condition the Reverend and townspeople pin on transgressions, and the way he was led into trouble by the rougher boys he hung out with, it was especially a bad look for him to be involved. He confesses these things to his mother as, he is totally indoctrinated into the cult beliefs. (Their beliefs are strict, old-world Christian views, but the Reverend manipulated tradition for power.) An altercation happens between the MC, Edgar, his mother, and the Reverend when the townsfolk pin the blame on him and his companion, whom he believes is dead. His mother mysteriously dies the next day and he believes it was the cult leader or a high member. This is never confirmed or denied, but it launches him into a revolt.

Now the problem is, the story is already very debatable due to religious aspects. It is NOT a religious commentary, whatever people draw from religion from the story I hope not to influence at all. I'm very much removed from religion, but not against it in the slightest.