1. a.m.wolf

a.m.wolf New Member

Creating a Diverse World

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by a.m.wolf, Mar 27, 2019.

Hello everyone. I'm an aspiring author, and decided it was about time I join a writing forum to get some input on a high fantasy book I'm trying to write. I decided at the beginning I didn't want it to be a formulaic Medieval Europe-inspired fantasy. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy Medieval Europe, but I don't want to base my world purely on it. Our world is multicultural, and and so I want my fantasy world to reflect that. Ambitious, I know. Clearly, I won't be able (nor would I want) to create cultures that correspond to every culture we have on Earth. But I have chosen a couple I would like to focus on (though they are not set in stone). However, I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to properly represent different cultures without falling into terrible stereotypes and cultural appropriation. Also, I have created my own mythos for this story, but as religion/mythology/etc. is a big part of every culture, I'm also unsure of how to weave the real-world cultures I draw inspiration from and my own fantasy world together without coming across as insensitive.

2. Colactix

Colactix Member

Cities are usually a good tool to convey lots of different ideas in one space - markets, places of worship, stores, town meetings, entertainment (plays, bards, fighting), pubs - places where your MC will meet and interact with a lot of different people from different backgrounds. Obviously this would have to relate to the plot, but 'meaningful' random encounters are always a good way to add some colour. Stereotypes exist because they're recognisable, you can use them without cashing out, that way exposition isn't needed for everything you say.

I wouldn't worry about being insensitive, unless it's anything glaring - just write. Your cultures will be fictional, as will their peoples' beliefs, even if you are taking inspiration from the real world.