1. BFGuru

BFGuru Active Member

Creating a fictional kingdom

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by BFGuru, Aug 14, 2011.

It's break time between classes and I thought this would be the perfect time to try and expound upon a story that's been going around in my head. It is my first attempt at writing anything of this magnitude and I want it to be worthwhile.

It's somewhat of a historical romance. Kings, queens, princesses and the like. My issue was do I create my own middle earth? Or do I place an imaginary kingdom somewhere in the same region my favorite stories have occured? I opted for the imaginary kingdom, which is probably good, in that I don't have the skill of Tolkein and a tiny country is proving difficult enough.

I've discovered as of late the Basque Countries, which has me completely enthralled, but forming a nation that is touched by the cultures I want them to interact with and determining what ancient life in this region was like is stumping me.

I've got a general idea, but how to encorporate things so that my reader understands is where I'm stuck. I've learned the local deities, and the words behind the superstitions, but the average reader will not understand things that would be commonplace to my characters. How would you go about defining it? How would you draw an entire civilation up with words and make it to where when you mention the local word for something like "witch" it is understood what emotions are being conveyed and what thought process the characters would go through for something that is as natural to them as air, but is completely foreign to your reader?

Any ideas would be appreciated. I've got a language known to few people to work with and names are going to be strange enough, but the more I research, the more I realize this is the perfect locale for my imaginary kingdom that will be able to interact with true historical figures of that time.

2. Gallowglass

Gallowglass Contributor Contributor