1. Slappydappy

Slappydappy New Member

A question about using pop culture references in a book

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Slappydappy, Mar 4, 2012.

I've reading Ulysses and I sorta had an idea I wanted to implement into a project I was already working on. However, this is a question I always wanted to know.

If a character in a novel references pop culture, such as music, celebrities, books, movies, etc. How does this work? Can the book still be published? What are the laws on this?

I know some people are going to say it's not necessary to ever do this, and if I am a good writer I won't need to do it. I don't care about that viewpoint, only the law and chances of getting the work published. Sorry if my question seems odd or doesn't make sense.

2. gypsystarchild

gypsystarchild New Member

As far as copyright laws go, I really don't know the answer. I often use pop culture references in my writing, but I'm not a published writer :) What are you planning on referencing from Ulysses? Perhaps there's a way to do so indirectly. Often times it just depends on the work and how you're using it. Also, once something is out there, it's fair game. Granted, you can't just copy and paste three chapters, but ideas cannot be copyrighted. The specific way they are described, however, are. Does this help? And, if you are planning on publishing this project, your editor will know what can/cannot be reproduced.

3. Mark_Archibald

Mark_Archibald Active Member

It has been discussed here:

https://www.writingforums.org/showthread.php?t=50609

lots of good insight there.

Can the book be published? Yes, if you're referencing something as it is in real life you'll be fine. There's hundreds of examples in technicalities, but this is acceptable: 'Billy Bob was so angry that he squeezed his cup of Starbucks and didn't care as the coffee scalded his hand.'

My advice is don't overdo it with the pop culture references.

4. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor