1. DoyenCae

DoyenCae New Member

Creating an Outline

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by DoyenCae, Aug 2, 2020.

I am new to writing fiction. I am at a stage where I write lots of little bits in a variety of different styles, seeing what works for me. I am getting a feel for how I want to write but I have reservations about how to proceed with writing at length.

My problem as I see it, is that I am not very good at conceptualising a story structure. As a reader I have little sense of what is coming next in a story. For example, some people know "who dunnit" before the end of the first act, I am usually clueless right up to the end!

So I think I need to work on story outlines so I have a direction to go in as I write. Any good tips most welcome!

2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

Your first step should be to learn a few things about story structure. I would keep it simple, look up websites explaining Aristotle's Poetics, otherwise known as 3-Act Structure. Look at lots of them, you'll start to get the feel for it. It's really the basis for all other methods of story structure. I don't mean they all incorporate it, but rather it's the first one you should learn and then branch out from there if you want to. It seems to be the archetypal story structure, and the others get more complicated.

3. Seven Crowns

Seven Crowns Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor Contest Winner 2022