1. RobertD

RobertD New Member

Help with developing a critical point in my plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by RobertD, Apr 13, 2015.

Hello Everyone,

First off, two points I want to make. First, I am not a prolific writer. I made one attempt in my twenties (40 years ago) to write a novel with some very minor success. Now, I am trying again because I have had a story in my head for more than twelve years and four years ago I decided it was time to try and tell the story in another attempt at a fiction novel. I don't expect it to be published, but I want to leave it as a legacy to my sons and daughter who may want to develop or refine it further. Secondly, I don't expect anyone here to write my plot for me. I simply need some suggestions to make one major point more palatable to my readers.

My story could be described as as “Contagion meets The DaVinci Code”. It mixes fact with fiction and actually uses real historical figures as characters in the story, though purely in a fictional way. Basically, it begins with a prologue which takes place in the fourteenth century. An incredibly virulent disease is wiping out a large number of the population of England and Europe. In the story, a “cure” is discovered by a physician in Italy. The Pope at the time (Pope Clement) has outlawed the so-called cure because it's use will undermine the authority of the Church. However, the cure is genuine and in the right circumstances does in fact stop the disease. It is smuggled to England where the Bishop of London investigates it and finds it to be genuine, only to have the Pope demand that any existence of this “potion” be destroyed. The Bishop has a moral dilemma and secretly seals the last portion of the cure in a manner that will endure the ages. Just before his death, he asks a Church colleague to hide the mixture in a place that can be found if it ever is needed again.