Tags:
  1. Rohan89

Rohan89 Member

How the hell do I take a fiction scene or idea, to a novel?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Rohan89, Mar 20, 2019.

how does it happen? I feel blind to this process.

I have written dozens and dozens (maybe close to a hundred) of scenes in the past couple years, 2 short stories, 1 very bad novella (30k words) first draft.

But it's almost like it feels impossible to turn the images/scenes/first few pages, into something resembling a true story- even more impossible a NOVEL of 50k words.

How the hell is it done?

I know all the advice says 'there should be somewhere the character is really trying to get to, and an obstacle' but very often I can't think of one that can carry a whole novel.

how does this materialize from your first idea of a scene or a character? I am seriously at my wits end figuring out how to do this.

I have been writing fiction for 2 years and 99% of the time it's just a scene or a few pages that goes nowhere...WTF?

Am I too boring to write a full novel? too shallow? have I been too sheltered all my life that I have no stories to tell? (I am 30 years old)

Someone please help me. I don't know where to go next and am wasting my life. All I want to do is write fiction but right now I'm garbage at it.

jannert likes this.
  2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

First of all, can you pinpoint what made you write that (or any) particular scene?

Don't overthink it, or expect an entire plot to suddenly surface. Instead, try writing the 'next' scene. Where do the events in that scene lead? Not long term, but the very next 'thing.' Or you can try writing the scene that came before? What do you think caused that scene to happen?

Don't worry about wasting time. Just get a grip into whatever the scene conjures up for you. Is it a personality? Or an event? Or a potential event? A setting? An encounter? Even a mood?