1. Stammis

Stammis Banned

When to use dash

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Stammis, Mar 28, 2016.

I have two questions; I am using the semicolon and the dash correctly?

And does the last sentence make sense, in the context of; everyone has lost their memories expect the MC, and he hasn't told anyone about it.

But today, even planet watching was unable to cheer him up. The many failures of finding a profession had alienated him from the others. And without a function, you are considered a strain on the town's resources, a waste of space. That is what they kept telling him anyway. He looked up at a hill, the hill where he came from and wondered why he was sent here, how he was sent here. His legs moved on their own as if drawn to his place of birth; it might as well be since it was his, and everyone else’s, earliest memory - as far as everyone else was concerned…

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

ALL THE TIME. I love the dash.

I'm not a punctuation expert (you need @ChickenFreak) but pretty sure your first semicolon use is incorrect, the second correct and the dash fine.

The last sentence doesn't make sense to me.

3. Stammis

Stammis Banned

Dang!

Great!

Great!

Dang!

Got two out of four right ;)

peachalulu likes this.
  4. doggiedude

doggiedude Contributor Contributor

I'm no expert either but it seems like most times a period and a new sentence is better used than a semicolon. I used to try semicolons all the time until one of my professors told me to knock it off. For some reason, it seems that since the semicolon and the colon aren't used often, writers like the idea of using them just for the sake of doing something unusual.
    If you just read the part after the semicolon you have a complete sentence already.

You also have a sentence starting with"And" which is a no no. :)