1. Joules03

Joules03 New Member

When you really don't like the writing...

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Joules03, Aug 17, 2010.

I have recently acquired some new local writing partners, and we have just started sending our work to each other. They said they liked what I'd sent, and made a few suggestions, but really not as many as I would like. And when they sent me their work ...

um...

I didn't really like anything about it.

I don't think I'm a stellar writer, but I like to think I know a thing or two, so my opinion counts for something. But I didn't like these writers' plots, the 2D characters, the cliches, the dialogue, etc etc etc

So what I did was give tons of suggestions - but not all of them. I think it's important to give some positive feedback amongst all the red, because I don't want people to get discouraged. I figure if they send me their revision, I can slowly give some more feedback, instead of doing it all at once.

Then I was thinking - what if others think MY writing is crap. Wouldn't I want as much feedback as possible?

I don't mean to sound all high and mighty here. Does anyone know what I mean or found themselves in a similar situation?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

See the thread How to Review Something Awful.

3. Joules03

Joules03 New Member

Thanks, that's helpful!

4. Thanshin

Thanshin Active Member

I have an approach to reviewing that's partially based on avoiding that problem.

Whenever I review something I start by imagining it will be perfect (i.e.: beyond my skill to review it). Then, if I find what I consider a mistake, I lower my expectations to the level of that mistake. From that point on, I don't comment on more complex mistakes than that one. If I find a simpler mistake, I reset my bar to that point and, again, don't comment on subtler mistakes.