Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Johnathon B Cook

Johnathon B Cook New Member

Dialogue Critique?

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by Johnathon B Cook, Jan 27, 2022.

Here's a little random scene I wrote for my characters and their interaction. Feel free to critique anything, especially dialogue. I am definitely fine and open with other sorts of critique as well, descriptive wording, vocabulary, punctuation, layout and so on. And note: The perspectives may be confusing because the only point of view that is showing is the reader's or spectator, not any of the characters. Like a screenplay. Apologies for that. That's a mistake I noticed right away. I'll try and fix it later. I'm a beginner writer, as you can probably tell.

Scene starts here.

"Oho, look at you." A chipper voice echoed as a man strides out from the dim-lit hallway with Mason barely conscious and kneeling on the floor, eyes seeing doubles and vision as fuzzy as kitten's fur. The man spoke again.
    "Is it all coming together now? Or do my buddies need to hit your head a little harder?"

Mason grunted as he wiped the blood from upon his nose, his face aching with purple. "So you want me to figure you out? Isn't that a little stupid?"

Jobe wore a slow smile that crept on his lips, running a finger along the dusty edging of the walls. He rubbed his own fingers together, peering at them in playful thought before opening his grinning mouth to speak, turning his head and answering. "No. Sometimes the best secrets are hidden in plain sight. Can you imagine? Pondering on the meaningful assets of life, only to have truth directly looking at you in your face. It's hilarious!" He chortled softly, leaning his head to the side. "People just do what they are told, believe what is said. Just because you have eyes, doesn't mean you can see, Mason."