1. Bakkerbaard

Bakkerbaard Contributor Contributor

Dialogue things

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by Bakkerbaard, Apr 9, 2020.

Through the reading I used to do I know what a written dialogue is suppose to look like, with an indent here and a tag there.
    Through several Youtube clips I've come to understand some of the rules, but a few things still look wrong to me even though several people say otherwise.
    Like issue 1:
    "I have a line," he said.
    That's supposed to be the correct form, but while in the case of a question or exclamation one would use a question mark or exclamation point respectively, why not use a period in the above example? The line is done there. I'm not using commas to end my sentences while I write this either.

Issue 2:
    Nobody ever told me anything about a colon. As an amateur I have the instinct to write the following:
    He turned around and said: "I have a line."
    In that example I believe the colon should be a comma, yes?

Issue 3:
    Every clip I watched emphasised that you can never use too many "he said she said".
    Really?
    I figured that was a given and as such I prefer to use it as little as possible. Whenever I do need to remind readers who's saying what I much rather use "he hissed at her" or "she said, throwing her hands up in frustration", but apparantly that is the hallmark of an amateur.

jannert likes this.
  2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hmm. Let me try.

Issue One - I know it makes no real sense, but that is the accepted way to punctuate dialogue. Just one of those English language conventions we stick to. :) There are other ways to do it, such as the use of a dash rather than quotation marks, but this is the most common form of dialogue punctuation—at least in the USA and in the UK. The exclamation mark or the question mark indicate something more than just the ending of the statement, so they substitute for the comma.