1. Tomb1302

Tomb1302 Senior Member

Flow and Rhythm of Sentences

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Tomb1302, Jan 3, 2018.

As some of you may know (others are now informed), I'm a debutant writer. I won't disclose my age, but I'm young (As could you probably guess by my profile picture), and lack much experience writing.

I've been writing quite a lot of my novel lately, and have been moving along quite swiftly [Idea wise], but where I find myself struggling is through the execution of some of my sentences.

Essentially, the point of this thread was to ask, how can I become a better writer? How can I tell if the flow of my sentences is lively and vivid, or stale and dull? How can I improve on this?

Sorry for rambling on and thank you :)

Last edited: Jan 3, 2018
  2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Read and write more. A lot more.

Have other people read it. You'll find out fairly quickly if your flow is a go or a no. As far as improving a no-go flow... read and write more?

3. Tomb1302

Tomb1302 Senior Member

Yes, that's a given. As with everything, the best way to improve is to do that thing. I wanted to know how to identify good from bad, and how to best apply it to my writing. Will it simply come naturally?

4. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Probably not without feedback and critique. A piece of writing is a consumable product that requires consumers and markets to reach them. I mean, I can write something and tell if it's good/bad/mediocre in a broad sense, but whether a large-ish group of people would enjoy it is something else. The "come naturally" gets easier with time and experience I suppose, but the best way to expedite things is to solicit a bunch of betas for feedback.

Tomb1302 likes this.
  5. Tomb1302

Tomb1302 Senior Member