1. Binba

Binba New Member

Magazine publisher's confusing response

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Binba, May 21, 2010.

I am an expert in the video engineering field but am a newcomer to the world of professional writing. My goal is to get published in trade magazines in my field which, given my lack of writing credentials, is also a better target than querying Vanity Fair.

I've been doing my homework and research, and it's starting to pay off: I received a positive response for a query. What I don't understand is, did I get the assignment or not? Their guidelines state "All articles received by the deadline date for a specific issue will be reviewed by the Editor and considered for that issue or possibly a later issue. No decisions regarding possible inclusion in the magazine are made before the article submission deadline." No word on queries.

1. The email pretty much says "thanks for the query, this sounds like an exceptional article and I am looking forward to seeing it." There's no mention of a deadline. I don't even understand if he's committed to publishing it. Did he just essentially ignore my query and wants the manuscript for consideration? I thought it didn't work that way in the magazine business.

How would you approach this? I can either ask "which issue is this for?" or respond right away with my proposed agreement and make up my own deadline. What should I expect in terms of their commitment to publish?

2. He stated they had no budget for editorial, and whether this is accurate or not I'm fine with it at this point - if I it leads to timely publishing. It is a legit magazine with a print circulation of 25,000.

Ideally, in exchange for the no-pay I'd like a commitment to publish in the next issue or two and if not, all rights revert back to me and the license expires. I don't want the manuscript to sit on his desk for 4 months and then rejected. How would you phrase such a thing?