1. Do agents ever...

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by Deleted member 11749, Aug 7, 2009.

One question...might be stupid - in fact, it most probably is:

Would an agent ever read your query, then the first 50, then ask to like , i don't know meet you or something? I don't know why... but I was just wondering if they schedule like appointments or something to speak to someone about their book.
    Yeah, it was dumb, but I'm a newbie, what do you expect?

2. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

They would never agree to meet someone unless have read the entire book and was confident they could sell it. Anything more than that would be a waste of time because everything else can be done by mail.

3. okidoke, thanks

4. Rei

Besides, most of the agents live in places like New York and Los Angeles. Or in our case, the GTA. If you live in Moncton, it's not that easy to get there.

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

but one should never say 'never'!

if the query and the sample were so brilliantly written and the concept so highly marketable that the agent wouldn't want to risk the author being snagged by a competitor, it is possible that they'd want to meet... not probable, but certainly not beyond the realm of possibility... in fact, it's probably happened a time or two...

especially if the author and the agent are in the same vicinity... which is why so many wannabe authors/screenwriters have for generations taken the plunge and moved to NYC/LA, since those are the hubs of the publishing/film industries and being able to 'take meetings' can improve one's chances of success... much more so in the film world, of course, but to some extent in the literary one, as well... though less and less in the latter, as technology erases distance...

6. Rei

This, coming from someone who is constantly telling me not to count on things that are a thousand times more likely to happen than what watson is talking about?

7. mammamaia