1. lilithpeach

lilithpeach New Member

Will this harm my chances of getting published?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by lilithpeach, Feb 29, 2016.

Hello everyone! I'm new here, as you can probably tell, haha.
    Hopefully I posted this in the right form, I wasn't exactly sure where it should go.
    Anyways, the title might seem a bit broad, but rest assured I have a much more in-depth query.

To make it as brief as possible, I'm a young author - I will be turning 18 in a few months. I have yet to publish anything, but hope to do so in the near future. Specifically, a novel (that, if I'm able to expand on, would become a series). The plot that I'm primarily interested in writing revolves around two boys who completely loathe one another who find themselves in another world / universe, and learn they are reincarnations who were once princes in this fantasy world.
    Here's the thing- I would like these two to also learn they had some romantic feelings for one another in their past life. Yes, bisexual main characters, everybody. However, I don't want the book to be focused on romance or be considered an LGBT+ book. Why? That's not the point of the story. It's an adventure / fantasy book. The romance would only be a very subtle (and surprise!) element, and may only be brought up later on in the story if it were turned into a series.

I guess what my question is..does this hurt my chances of getting published? Will I receive backlash for the sexualities of my characters or will publishing agencies turn away from me?

I genuinely do not know much about the standing position of this topic in the writing world. I know there is a genre directed towards LGBT+ youth, but what about other genres? Am I walking on dangerous ice here as someone just starting out in the writing world?

I appreciate any and all feed-back!

2. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor