Tags:
  1. frenchpastry

frenchpastry New Member

Tired of Rewriting

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by frenchpastry, Mar 1, 2012.

Does anyone else get tired of rewriting the same story? I mean, I'm all for making my story better, but after a bunch of rewrites, I start to feel a little frustrated. Anyone else? And anyone have any tips on how to get past this frustration?

Maybe take a break, work on something new, then go back to it? I'm afraid though that if I work on something else that I'll lose my inspiration and motivation for the story I'm currently rewriting.

2. Pchew

Pchew Member

Well, your never going to get it perfect :). You have to choose when it's good enough :D

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

What do you mean by rewrites?

The why I do stories (and I'm a short story writer, not a novellist) is I get a first draft down, and then I spend as long as necessary editing it. I don't (usually) write a story and then start over from scratch rewriting it.

But Pchew is right, to a point. If you're just nitpicking and reworking and reworking minor details, then there comes a point where you have to simply put down the red pen and move towards submission.

4. Nakhti

Nakhti Banned

Yes, I wonder whether you actually mean 'rewrite' or 'edit' - rewriting is a pretty brutal and soul destroying process, usually motivated by realising that what you've got fundamentally does not work and needs a radical overhaul. This is what I'm doing to my novel following advice from an agent. Only about 50% of my original draft will end up in the rewrite, and combining new and old drafts is a horrendous chore.

By comparison, mere editing is a pleasure :D

5. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member