1. doggiedude

doggiedude Contributor Contributor

Does this sound strange?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by doggiedude, Apr 14, 2016.

I'm looking for a way to describe a group of street urchins in a futuristic dystopia. This is what I came up with.

It was a motley assortment of the city’s preteen-underbelly. Most of the kids had no masks, some had no shoes, one girl even needed to wear Haava’s jacket because she was sitting in the apartment wearing only shorts and an ill-fitting bra.

There's just something about preteen-underbelly that makes me think pedophile which is not the thought I was going for.

2. terobi

terobi Senior Member

Yeah, preteen-underbelly makes it seem a bit odd. Particularly when you refer to a preteen girl's bra a bit later (do preteens wear bras? I'm not really an expert here). Removing the hyphen does a little bit to help, but I'd just refer to the "city's underbelly" and fit the "preteen" bit in somewhere else.

I like that it immediately tells you that "masks" are something that is expected in this society, though.

One thing; is the girl already wearing Haava's jacket as we enter the scene, or does he hand her his jacket because she's not wearing much? It reads like the former, but how do we know it's his jacket rather than her own, and how do we know that's why she was wearing it (presumably she'd have done up the jacket so you couldn't see the bra underneath anyway)?

3. doggiedude

It's a context thing. Haava is the POV character's wife. They both had just arrived at the condemned building to find the children squatting in there.

4. terobi

terobi Senior Member

In which case, you might want to clarify that they found her in her underwear and his wife handed the jacket over. As is, it sounds like she was wearing it when they found her, and if that is the case they shouldn't know what she's wearing underneath it.

5. LostThePlot

LostThePlot Naysmith Contributor