1. Cerrus

Cerrus New Member

Profiling People?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Cerrus, Jul 12, 2012.

As a writer and as an artist I do a LOT of people watching. As a writer, I watch people and how they interact. As an artist, I study people on the way they look and how the way they dress coincides with their personality, or what subtle features define a young person from an elderly person, etc.. Now, when I walk around in public I tend to look at someone and will profile them (Nearly 100% of the time I'm right about them).

My question is, is this a good or bad thing to do? Also, do any of you guys do this? Let the posting commence!

2. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

Just curious how you know you're right.
    It is fun to people watch. I like observing couples, especially at restaurants. How they interact, their reactions to the food, etc. It's always interesting to try to guess whether they're on a first date, a well-established couple, not a couple at all, etc. Of course, I have no way of knowing whether my guess is correct. And also, you can't be too obvious.

3. Mercurial

Mercurial Contributor Contributor

^ That was my question too...

I enjoy people watching as well. I'll often go to the mall or the park and leave my sunglasses on and just observe freely. ;) It helps when I am looking for some inspiration for a new character or even a brand new story. I'll "profile" someone (I suppose) and dream up their back story and come up with explanations for why they behave the way they do. :)

I think I'd love to be a fly on the wall in high school again, now that I'm beyond it. High school is an excellent place to observe human behavior because everyone is still insecure enough to create funny situations. :p

4. JonSpear360

JonSpear360 Member

People watching is a great game! I often sit in a Denny's or Starbucks to write and do homework, and when I do, I am constantly eavesdropping on the conversations going on around me.