1. Partridge

Partridge Senior Member

eBook cover design - who do we use, who do we avoid?

Discussion in 'Cover Design' started by Partridge, Mar 25, 2019.

Hello everyone,

My WIP is now in being edited by a professional, so in the meantime I'm looking at getting the cover designed.

I'm planning on going with KDP, so it must also work as a hardcopy cover, so the spine will need doing too. I'll be going for a custom design.

Who are you all using, who do you recommend, and who should I avoid?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

What's your genre? A lot of cover designers have specialties.

3. Partridge

Partridge Senior Member

Hi BayView,

My genre is mystery/black humor.

BayView likes this.
  4. Iain Sparrow

Iain Sparrow Banned Contributor

Do not, repeat . . . DO NOT use these talentless "Cover Artists" that prey on writers who don't know any better and somehow expect they'll get a fantastic piece of art for $100!

I'm an artist, and better than 99% of the artists you'll find anywhere. I would not even entertain a commission under $3000. You've put your heart and soul into your story, why in the world would you pay a hack artist $100 to produce the cover that will grace your book for evermore?
    Find an artist that works in a similar genre as your story, the best you can find, and contact them. As far as spine copy and whatnot, that's up to you to do in Photoshop. A fine artist won't do those sort of things for you.