1. Than_urb

Than_urb Member

How to murder our darlings ?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Than_urb, Jan 23, 2020.

Hi guys,

I am a newbie on this forum but not on writing as I finished my first novel (and read a lot on writing).
    So, I got feedbacks from relatives and already started the editing process.

As Arthur Quiller-Couch stated well, we have to murder our darlings.
    And I know I have to cut like A LOT (you know basic first novel problem...).

So, my question is simple : how to get that mindset ?

I mean, deleting adverbs, repetitive sentences or non-important ones is (somehow) easy, but paragraphs, scenes or whole chapters... that's kind of a pain in the ass for me !

To provide you a concrete example: my initial situation is too long and too slow (around 60 over 240 pages).
    Of course, I have the "Is it important for the plot" question in mind but I'm afraid it's not enough for me.

So guys, thank you very much for any clues or ideas,

PS: sorry for my english level, it's not my native language (I'm french btw)

keysersoze and jannert like this.
  2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

One thing you can do is go back and re-read like a reader and not a writer (to the extent that's possible; I think you can refocus your mind to do it). You might even read the work out loud, which will not only help catch small errors like typos, sentence structure/wording, etc., but can establish a rhythm or flow for the story. That can help you figure out which paragraphs or scenes are interrupting or hampering the flow.

In any event--it's easier said than done. That's how I go about it, but others may have methods that work best for them.

Steve Rivers and Cave Troll like this.
  3. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor