1. Crazy-catfish

Crazy-catfish Member

Critique worry

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Crazy-catfish, Jan 1, 2017.

Being a new writer and what I would consider a complete novice who is still learning myself, how on earth do I give critique to someone else's work?
    I struggle (immensely) with grammar, so I can't help in that department. I've read a few pieces and think it's either good or not to my personal taste, but wouldn't know how to put that across as at the end of the day that's just my opinion. It might be brilliant for all I know, but I'm saying I don't like it!

Arghh, I guess I'm really just asking how you're supposed to give a critique when you're probably the least qualified person to do so?

2. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

:D it helps to read through a few other critiques (particular inline, where the critiquers gave his recommendation right beside the 'wrong' part) and try to spot why the critiquer said what he said. If you have done this a few times, go on and try to spot troubles in a piece without first looking at what others wrote.

It's not rocket science, and no one will get angry if you don't offer much. Just keep on :)

3. Crazy-catfish

Crazy-catfish Member

Thanks Lifeline :)

4. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Who do we write for? Readers. If you're a reader, you're qualified!

Many of us prefer a reader's critique than a writer's one - that is, we don't want it full of technical jargon and suggestions for sentence structure, but we want to know:
    • Did you like the characters?
    • Did you enjoy it?
    • Was anything confusing or unclear?
    • Would you read on?