1. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member

Greetings from the Superpysho.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by superpsycho, Feb 29, 2012.

After reading some of the introductions here I find myself rather disappointed that so many would be writers would have so few words on a topic they should know thoroughly, themselves. Unfortunately, often it is much more difficult then it would seem. I would think people who work within artistic fields like acting, painting and writing have to be able to draw from a reservoir of experience and emotion that allows their art to live. If you’re afraid to expose yourself openly and honestly then when you write how much are you going to hold back?

Now, who am I to criticize? Absolutely nobody I assure you. However I have found if want to achieve great things, you have to take a chance and be willing to fail. I’m I a writer? Yes, but only because I choose to write. That of course doesn’t mean I’m a good writer so some may disagree that I should call myself one. I’ve had courses in creative writing and journalism many years ago. I was told more then once I should become a writer based on a number of short stories I did at the time for my English and writing classes. I do remember being told by my English teacher the fist three rules of writing. 1) It’s about the story. 2) It’s about the story. 3) It’s about the story. I assume what she was trying to get across was if it didn’t further or add to the story line then why include it. The other thing I remember was her saying that a good part of any story was the readers own imagination. To tell the truth I was never sure of her motivations or the reliability of her advice since at the time I was dating her daughter. As it turned out, fortunately or unfortunate depending on you perspective, I had other interests and became an engineer.