1. Kevin Teichman

Kevin Teichman Active Member

Can’t pick language to learn

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Kevin Teichman, Jun 16, 2018.

I have studied German for some time now (standard High German and Bavarian), and some Icelandic. I want to pick a third to study now, and I cannot decide between Finnish, Afrikaans, Russian, or Mandarin. Which is most interesting?

I look at the “coolness” factor of a language rather than usefulness. Which is why I’ve studied German and Icelandic (both useless in Texas) over Spanish. Not bashing it, they are far more interesting to me.

I love learning languages and hope to one day be able to speak 10 or more.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I'm going to prejudicially pick Russian of the list you gave, but it was, admittedly, the language in which I worked as an interpreter while in the USAF. It has all the juiciness of learning a fully inflected language (a concept with which you will have already come into contact in German and Icelandic, though the Russian system is much less reduced than in the Germanic tribe), is still part of the Indo-European spectrum so you will be able to trace some word roots, but is outside the Germanic tribe of languages, which, at least to me, means all the yummy exoticness one could ask for. And you get to learn a new alphabet!

It's like a staycation... if one were to employ that idea as a really brutalized simile. ;)

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I think it'd be interesting to learn Afrikaans because it's of such recent origin. And if you're shooting for learning 10 languages, learning Afrikaans would take you a long way toward learning Dutch, so... double whammy!

4. Dragon Turtle

Dragon Turtle Deadlier Jerry

I have studied both Finnish and Mandarin, and while both are incredibly cool, both of them beat me senseless and robbed me blind, leaving me frail and full of sorrow.