1. Mikelindo

Mikelindo Member

The new guy

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mikelindo, Jan 20, 2020.

Hello all!

Just wanted to quickly introduce myself and, at the same time, welcome other new users. Here's an abridged version of me: I lived for a 2-year stint in Argentina and my family has since circulated the United States, yet I call Florida home. I am happily married and have a son who is nearing the terrible teen years. I work in the railroad signaling business as a project manager, and I'm guessing that my writing experience is much like many of your own: in six years of active writing, I've managed to shed three full books and dozens of partials - none of which has yielded publication of any fashion.

Yet here I am, still plucking away and looking forward to another written page. I'm hoping that this forum will be a place where I can comfortably exchange ideas and both give and receive constructive feedback. Look forward to iMeeting many of you!

2. Madman

Madman Life is Sacred Contributor

Welcome! What were your books about? Have you tried to self-publish?

3. Steve Rivers

Steve Rivers Contributor Contributor

Every time I talk to Americans on the subject, they always tell me Floridians are crazy. I hope you don't let me down, Mike! :)

4. Mikelindo

Mikelindo Member

Thanks! Two of my (completed) books are middle-grade fantasy/historical fantasy. The third is a middle-grade mystery. I'm currently working on a young adult dystopian. What about you? Just browsing some of your posts, it looks like you're a world-builder. What's your target audience?

As far as self-publishing goes, after tons of research, I'm not sure if it's for me. I'm keeping my fingers and toes crossed that one of my works will pique the interest of some naive listing agent.

Madman and jannert like this.
  5. Mikelindo

Mikelindo Member

That all depends on how you define crazy.