1. TIG

TIG Member

Families of fallen soldiers

Discussion in 'Research' started by TIG, Apr 30, 2021.

I have characters who are related to fallen US soldiers. Parents and siblings of these soldiers.

If any of you have experience or knowledge about that, please share.
    I'm talking about what happens with the family having to deal with the government or military. Or with the school (if the soldier had a sibling in high school, middle school, or elementary).

2. SapereAude

SapereAude Contributor Contributor

I'm a veteran but I haven't been personally acquainted with the family of anyone who was killed in the line of duty. That said, I think it would help if you could be more specific in your question(s). In general, the first thing that happens is that an officer contacts the family (usually personally, I believe) to inform them of the soldier's death. I'm pretty certain the military (Army, Navy, Air Force, or Marines) provides contact information for a liaison officer who would guide the family through bringing the body home, perhaps assisting with funeral arrangements and burial, and advising them of whatever insurance or survivor benefits they might be entitled to.

A younger sibling in high school would not be a direct participant in any of this unless the parents bring him/her in as an observer. The younger sibling's school doesn't enter into the picture.

Is there anything specific that you need to know?

Last edited: May 1, 2021
  3. SapereAude

Last edited: May 1, 2021
  4. TIG

TIG Member

Thank you for your reply and the link. I will check it out.

The reason I'm asking the question is because one of my characters has a relevant background. A pretty major character, who is an adult in my story, has lost a sibling in war. It affected her and her mother.
    Now, the story doesn't follow the death itself or the funeral or any immediate consequences necessarily, but has flashback of the way they were coping with life without their lost loved one.