1. Oguru

Oguru New Member

Changing Perspective Mid Scene

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Oguru, Oct 27, 2018.

Hi

I recently started writing my first Sci-fi/Fantasy novel and have a bit of an issue with the second chapter.

Basically, it involves describing people enjoying a fun/tranquil place through the perspective of 2 children and their father. The only problem is, I want to introduce one of the main characters to the scene by crashing him through the wall of this entertainment dome thing, completely disrupting the peaceful and fun atmosphere.

I thought it was best to use the 3 people at the start so it's not just a large infodump and it can describe movement through the scene etc. However, I now have the issue of needing the scene to be from the main character's perspective 1000 words into the chapter which is difficult, as it seems like it will confuse the reader and probably just look like sloppy writing.

I'm very new to all this and have a lot to learn. Does anyone have any recommendations about how to solve this problem?

Thanks

2. Oguru

Oguru New Member

Anyone?

3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

First, what does the rest of your POV sitch look like in this story?

Without this, it's hard to know how to answer. If you hand me a clutch pedal for a car and ask me where it goes and what it connects to and I tell you, show you, explain to you, and then after I've spent half an hour explaining, you then show me the automatic transmission you're going to use in the car, I've wasted half an hour, because that clutch pedal doesn't fit anywhere in a car that's going to use an automatic transmission.

The wording of your question tells me you understand the concepts of POV's, so what's the core POV settup of your story? Are you writing 3rd person omniscient? This part of your question smells like 3PO to me:

...but then this part tells me that maybe I'm wrong: