1. tyrus

tyrus New Member

Recruiting a Crit/Support Group Suggestions!!

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by tyrus, Jul 11, 2011.

I'm a newer member here. I've been writing for 10 years now but never actually finished a work or publish anything (I've started 3 different long novel length plots but abandoned all of them). Recently the accounting firm that I work for hired an actual published author. I have been talking with her about my struggles (while building up a friendship) and have learned two things. I learned that I am an extreme plotter and that I severly need a support system. My writer friend however writes in a different genre (horror and I'm sci-fi) and has implied that other writers dont usually help other writers until there is an actual draft to review/critique (even if this is incorrect she is still implying that this is her line) however because I'm an extreme plotter I never seem to get to the point of writing because every story that I start gets stuck before that stage.

I feel like every writer has a support group and I don't understand how they get that. None of my friends have ever been interested in helping me out and my wife (bless her heart) has tried to help but she is just a little to spacy/ditzy to help (constantly forgets the story and has to ask about key things that I've already told her about).

So that gets me to my main question:

How do you get/recruit a crit/support group?

Do you spend years writing meaninless short storys (that you can never get published because you put them online) just to try to meet other writers?

Do you take writing classes over and over until you meet someone who you click with?

To me it just seems overwhelming and impossible!!