1. Bwebb

Bwebb New Member

Reviewing to be critiqued....uggh

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Bwebb, Jun 6, 2010.

I'm a writer, and in no way or form qualified to critique anyone elses work. However in order to be critiqued I must review. This is like a plumber performing brain sugery to fix the pipes in the hospital. No, it's like performing the brain surgery because your told to, letting the patient die and still not allowed to fix the pipes. I don't fully understand this rule and i noticed that most people who review don't post alot of work. Can someone explain this to me?

2. Etan Isar

Etan Isar Contributor Contributor

Everyone on this forum is a writer. If writers are not qualified to critique, who do you expect to be critiqued by? :confused:

The fact is, knowing how to critique is an invaluable skill for any writer, because you constantly have to critique your own work. It's always hard to see the flaws in one's own material, but by looking at other people's work, the writer isn't held back by their blindness to problems in their own writing. To explore why a piece of writing does not work for you helps you to get a better idea of what will work in your own writing.

3. MJ Preston

MJ Preston Banned

deleted

1 person likes this.
  4. Etan Isar

Etan Isar Contributor Contributor

The workshop model is one of the most common models for teaching/learning creative writing. It's primarily a learn through doing approach. The forum is not here to polish up your work for submission, it's here to improve your overal writing skills. Which is something that giving and recieving critque is particularly effective at.

5. Bwebb

Bwebb New Member

I understand the "whoring your work" part. I can say if i like something or if I don't like something and what parts I like and what parts I don't but that doesn't seem to be good enough.

6. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor