1. sanco

sanco New Member

Publishing Short Stories

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by sanco, Apr 12, 2013.

Hey, so I'm relatively new to the literary world. I was wondering where short stories generally go -- stories that are too short to be novellas. Do they get published into books or would you be better off writing a collection of short stories and trying to publish that? I guess I'm asking more about the marketing of short stories. Forgive my ignorance. Thanks!

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Submit them to magazines. Read this thread for links to databases of short story markets. Duotrope recently started charging money (something like $50 a year), but Poets and Writers is still free.

My advice is to look through some magazines to see if your story would be a good fit. Aim for the highest paying/most prestigious magazines and work your way down.

I should also mention that short story collections don't sell very well, which is why publishers don't usually pick them up. So submitting your stories to magazines is your best bet.

3. sanco

sanco New Member

You're a legend, mate. Very informative. Thanks.

4. Anthony Martin

Anthony Martin Active Member

I have been submitting my short stories to literary magazines for a little over half a year now. What I've concluded is a) they should call it the lit mag rejection process because, well, you typically face a lot of rejection before getting a piece into print somewhere and b) there are many literary magazines out there--some print, some digital and some both.

Before submitting, I recommend familiarizing yourself with the market (read a few issues or stories from the archives) and their submissions guidelines. Many literary magazines now use the Submittable for handling submissions, which also serves as a useful tool for tracking everything in one place.

Here are a few literary magazines that I subscribe to, read and submit to on occasion: