1. 18-Till-I-Die

18-Till-I-Die Banned

First Shot: Ok, So, I've Been Working On My First Sci-Fi Novel...

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by 18-Till-I-Die, Oct 16, 2018.

So ok, this is like my first post, feel free to shoot me down if you want. I'm an aspiring author and a fan and something of an aficionado of Sci-Fi. For example I've read the entire Lesnmen series to front to back several times in fact. And sooo...I basically kinda threw together my own "fighting style" of writing, with a series I'm working on currently, and I'm really glad I found this place cause I have somewhere that maybe I can talk to other aspiring novelists about my attempts at this. I kinda like to think of this as my own sub-genre I'm working on, and yes I understand how arrogant and silly that sounds it's just the pep talk I give myself to make it easier to show the stuff I write to other people.

Anywho, what I mean by a new "sub-genre". It doesn't really fit with common sci-fi elements exactly but it takes a lot from various concepts--a lot of the stuff I drew inspiration from was 1990's anime like Akira, M.D. Geist, Robotech and Project A-ko but also from, as I said, the Lensmen series, Warhammer 40,000 and so a lot of the stuff I write (I've been told) combines amounts of space opera but also biopunk, cyberpunk, dystopia. But at the same time, there are HEAVY elements drawn from what could be called Young Adult stories, I was always a huge fan of "teen drama" shows in the realm of say Passions or Dawson's Creek (I'm a 90's kid, I make no excuses for myself) and so again, I've been told, a lot of the stuff I write has elements that wouldn't be out of place something of that sort. I would call it more of a heavy focus on young characters and teen drama and romance elements than actual Young Adult but there you go. I openly admit that the...trials lets say of young characters and their romantic bombshells play a big part in the stories.