1. BeckyJ

BeckyJ New Member

First time writer and need help with settings

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by BeckyJ, Dec 20, 2017.

Hi,
    I am just starting out on my writing journey and I have already become stuck..........not good!
    I am writing a fictional romance story but want it set in the area I live which of course is a real city, do I use the names of shops/towns/schools etc that actually exist or make them up?
    Thank you for any advice.

2. Mouthwash

Mouthwash Senior Member

I've never had an issue with fictional places in real cities. Just my opinion as a consumer of fiction.

crappycabbage and BeckyJ like this.
  3. RiverSong

RiverSong Member

Sounds like you may be overthinking it. Which is something I am told a lot when coming up with character names, city names, names of events, etc. One time I was given a tip to take something and just switch it slightly. For example, if you want to write about places in your city, slightly change the name of the city. If you use a local cafe, change up the name of the cafe a bit. For instance, a locally owned small cafe in my town is called "The Rising Son Cafe". One could use that place and it's atmosphere and just call it "The Sunrise Cafe".

We are inspired by our surroundings so it can be extremely easy to just navigate to what we know and then create a fictional story inside of that. But if you change up the name slightly of something, that may make you feel more comfortable that you aren't stealing any factual things.

Lifeline, BeckyJ and Fiender_ like this.
  4. NateSean

NateSean Senior Member

I set a story in Revere, Massachusetts once. But I needed a building from South Burlington, Vermont for one scene so I transplanted them.

You can also use the names of shops and stores to give shootouts to your friends, family, favorite shows, etc.

I had a shopping mall littered with Firefly references. (I even had sign advertising fruity oaty bars)